RSS

Gel eyeliner review

02 Apr

Hi everyone! Eyeliner is one of the most important products that a cosplayer should have in his/her make-up kit. It defines the eyes and makes them pop. That’s why it’s important to get a good eyeliner.

For this review, I’m going to focus on gel/cream eyeliners, specifically 2 kinds, Maybelline’s Eyestudio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner and E.L.F.’s Cream Liner. My Maybelline eyeliner is actually in black and the E.L.F. one is in coffee.

Cost: The Maybelline one costs Php 449 and the ELF one costs Php 249.75. Which means there’s about Php 200 difference between the 2.
Maybelline 01 ELF

Content: Maybelline’s contains 2.8g/010 oz. ELF contains 0.17 oz/4.7g. This one also goes to ELF.
Maybelline 02 ELF

Brush:

 Maybelline has a straight edge brush with a long handle and a cover. ELF has a short angled brush without a cover. While some people like to use an angled brush to apply their eyeliner, I prefer Maybelline’s straight edge. Plus, it has more hair/bristles than the ELF one which means I can get enough product on my eyes without having to go back and reline. The ELF brush also has a really thin edge though but Maybelline’s is fairly thin too. I just squeeze the tips to get it thinner if I want to.
Maybelline 12 ELF

Consistency: Maybelline’s is really creamy and thus easy to apply. ELF is quite dry, even my co-blogger Sleepingwhimsy complained that her eyes hurt when applying the eyeliner because the consistency was quite dry. My remedy is to place a tiny, tiny bit of baby oil on the brush before getting some product on it so it isn’t so dry. Put a drop of baby oil on your hand and lightly dab the tip of the brush once before dipping it in the tub of eyeliner.
Maybelline 22 ELF

Application and lasting power: Because Maybelline has a longer brush and creamy consistency, I found it thick and easy to apply. It also lasts quite long and doesn’t smudge once it’s set. There was this one event where I put on my eyeliner at 9 in the morning and it stayed on until around 7 in the evening. Because ELF is quite dry, it doesn’t smudge. However it doesn’t really last long. I put eyeliner before I went out at about 1pm and after watching a movie and walking around the mall, it was not visible anymore. That was at around 6pm-ish. Application is also difficult. Even if I get enough product on the brush, it doesn’t go on thick and is difficult to blend.

Maybelline

ELF

Maybelline 32 ELF

Other complaints: Look what happened to my brand new tub of ELF liner.
Urrrrgh. I’ve got to deduct points for that.
Maybelline 31 ELF

So all in all, Maybelline wins this one for me. It’s worth the extra Php 200 that you dish out. If you don’t have the budget for the Maybelline one and would really want the definition, ELF is so-so as an alternative. You’re probably going to remedy the dryness that it has though, so that you’ll have easier application. Another thing you might want to do is to find another eyeliner brush that you can use instead of the one that’s included. I tried using the Maybelline brush with a tiny dab of baby oil and it actually worked out fine. I got enough product on my brush and was able to line one eye without having to dip the brush in the tub again.

I’ll try to find cheaper gel/cream liner that works just as good as Maybelline. I heard Etude House also has gel liner. But until then, I’m sticking with Maybelline.

If you have any recommendation, please drop us a comment and we will gladly do a review on it.

Hasta luego!
ღƸ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒღ Akemi

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 2012.04.02 in eye make-up, make up

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
